My New/Old Lamp

26 Dec

A few weeks ago I picked up a lovely new mid-century lamp from one of my favorite vintage stores Home Anthology (store blogged about here). I like vintage lighting because the designs tend to be more visually interesting than a lot of what’s on the market today, and often times you can get cute pieces for relatively cheap at thrift stores and Ebay. The only downside to buying vintage lamps is that sometimes the wiring isn’t the greatest and you can never be sure what the maximum bulb wattage should be. But with a little ingenuity and IKEA I was able to solve this problem.

Below is my vintage lamp along with its old wiring. I swapped the old wiring for the wiring in my Fado Ikea table lamp (which had been hiding out in the back of my closet, ever since I broke the glass that covers it…I had a feeling the wiring would come in handy one day). You can pick up a new one from IKEA for $20.

After removing the old wiring, I simply put the lamp on top of the IKEA lamp base.

Tah dah…..my new/old lamp!

Leave a Reply

